Whangara Old Girls Netball Club



In 1980 situated on the main East Coast highway approximately 16 miles north of Gisborne, namely Pouawa, locals gathered together for a hui. The purpose of this gathering was to form a sports club, under the name of Paikea Whalers. As the option was to form a local rugby club, circumstances prevailed because of the original Paikea Rugby Team, so hence the formation of a league club being registered as Paikea Whalers Rugby League Club, the latter being the history of Ngati Konohi descendants.

With the formation of their new committee a meeting was held on Sunday 9th November 1980 at the local Community Hall in Whangara to discuss the formation of a Netball Team, the name of the club, the colors, and general questions for the President of the Poverty Bay Netball Association Mrs. Bev Fryer.

On January 1981 a meeting was held at 520 Wainui Road, Gisborne their initial request to the Poverty Bay Netball Association to name the team Paikea Whalers Netball Club was declined because of the Paikea Netball Club already registered to the Association (they went into recess 2 years later) hence the birth of Whangara Old Girls Netball Club with registered colours black and gold. Trainings were held at Whangara School with newly appointed Coach, Mrs. Ora McCutcheon.

Out of those hui exists the reason for this twenty-fifth year Anniversary Celebrations, founded by the late Mrs. Iranui Kokiri and her wh‚nau.

In its first year of competition, the club was the winners of the 5th Grade. 1982 saw the Club with a new committee and a new Coach, Ricci Paenga, Team 1 moved up to 2nd Grade and a team 2 was registered.

This was also the first year that the club participated in the Kurangaituku Tournament held in Rotorua, in which the Club has played and won this tournament throughout its history. They won their very first netball at this tournament in which all the players signed their names to it.

The netball was mounted and placed in a glass case, which was awarded to “BEST ALL ROUNDER” player, but never used. The committee of 2006 have decided to honour Life Members and plaques will be attached to this trophy.